ANDRILL: ANtarctic geological DRILLing
ANDRILL contacts btn
ANDRILL Science Committee (ASC)
The ANDRILL Science Committee (ASC) is a community-based planning committee that provides the Antarctic Earth science community with a framework, management structure, and mechanism to assist in the development and maturation of drilling proposals, the collection and integration of site survey results, and to coordinate initial discussions regarding resource allocations from National Antarctic Programs. The ASC’s chief responsibility is the development of future ANDRILL science targets, from initial concept to the submission of proposals. Membership of the ASC includes national representatives appointed by National Steering Committees (or other bodies) and proponents of developing projects.
Chief responsibilities of these members include:
(1) developing science and operational portfolios for drilling around the Antarctic margin,
(2) facilitating the establishment of international consortia to support drilling operations,
(3) ensuring a plan of geophysical surveys and drilling capability is operating on behalf of the international community,
(4) organizing the ANDRILL Site Survey Panel (ASSP) and ANDRILL Scientific Measurements Panel (ASMP), and
(5) maintaining continuity of the ANDRILL Science Plan (ASP) in the developing portfolios and drilling projects.

ASC International Representatives:
Luigi Jovane pic
Luigi Jovane
Instituto Oceanográfico
Universidade de São Paulo
Antonio Campos img
Antonio Carlos Rocha Campos
Instituto de Geociências
Universidade de São Paulo
Gerhard Kuhn pic
Gerhard Kuhn
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar & Marine Research
Frank Niessen pic
Frank Niessen
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar & Marine Research
Fabio Florindo pic
Fabio Florindo
Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV)
Franco Talarico pic
Franco Talarico
Universita Degli Studi di Siena
New Zealand
Tim Naish pic
Timothy Naish
Antarctic Research Centre,
Victoria University of Wellington
Gary Wilson pic
Robert McKay
Antarctic Research Centre,
Victoria University of Wellington
South Korea
Yea-Dong Kim pic
Yea-Dong Kim
Korea Polar Research Institute
Jae Lee pic
Jae Il Lee
Korea Polar Research Institute
United Kingdom
Bohaty pic
Steven Bohaty
University of Southampton
Mike Hambrey pic
Mike Hambrey
Aberystwyth University
United States of America
Dave Harwood
David Harwood, Chair, ASC
Dept. of Geosciences
University of Nebraska
Yoshifumi Nogi
Seismological Society of Japan
Julia Wellner
Dept. of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
University of Houston